Weekend Review

It was a long and busy, but relaxing weekend.

Thursday night, the Check Engine Light came on in my new (used) car. The Check Engine Light and emissions issues that were causing it is actually why I replaced my old car… so that was not a good sign. In fact, I was so worried/mad, that I even went slightly out of my way to stop at Autozone on the way home to have them read the code instead of even waiting a couple hours until MM got here to use his code reader. Turns out it is actually a fairly common problem with the car that the dealer I bought it from is going to fix.

Friday morning, we test drove cars for MM and then just relaxed the rest of the day and put up Christmas decorations.

Saturday morning is when I actually went to the dealer (which is like an hour and a half away) to have them tell me that I’m just going to have to bring the car back Monday. Which involves taking the morning off work, dropping off the car and getting a rental car from them, going to a meeting that is luckily only about a half hour from the dealer, driving through horrible traffic to get back to the dealer, picking up my car, driving through almost as horrible traffic to get to MMs house, and then driving back home/to work Tuesday morning.

But since we had to go all the way up to the dealer, we went on a hike at Sugar Loaf Mountain that afternoon. We took the “blue trail.” Maybe I’ve gotten out of shape, but that trail seemed way longer than 5 miles. It just took forever. And since I failed to take my camera and therefore don’t have any pictures to make a post about it interesting, that will be the extent of my review. But! On the way there, we spotted a roadside stand with pumpkins! So on the way back, we stopped and bought another pie pumpkin!

Sunday morning was mostly relaxing, then off to the grocery store to get ingredients for pumpkin cooking. I made these cookies. After I made them, I realized what “chewy cookies” really means. They have the same chewy texture that always creeped me out in chewy chips ahoy because I thought there was no way that was natural and not just from super preservatives. Now I know that it is natural, and the cookies taste great but still a little creepy. So this week, I’m going to try to find a recipe for crunchy pumpkin cookies. I didn’t want cakey – but it turns out, I also didn’t want chewy. Live and learn. Anyways, after spending about 4-5 hours in the kitchen between cooking the pumpkin and making the cookies, my feet hurt. Which is also what happened when we made pie. I really need to learn to wear shoes if I’m going to be on my feet all day.

Also, this weekend I managed to finish another two hats – which puts me at two for December. And I made a potholder as part of a creative gift that I thought of for my Mom and Aunts.

Leave a Reply

